The 2023 Alumni Achievement Awards

2023 Alumni Achievement Award Honorees

Each year the UMaine Alumni Association recognizes several individuals who have performed distinguished service on behalf of their professions, communities, and alma mater. To view the award categories, click here.

Two internationally recognized researchers, a selfless advocate for those in need, and a business-savvy financial expert are among the honorees being recognized as part of the University of Maine Alumni Association’s 2023 Alumni Achievement Awards ceremony. The 2023 honorees were selected based on nominations submitted to the Alumni Association’s awards committee. Award recipients were recognized at the Alumni Achievement Awards annual ceremony on April 28 at Wells Conference Center.

Prof. D. Allan Butterfield ’68, ’02 Sc.D. (Hon.)

Alumni Career Award

Prof. D. Allan Butterfield ’68, ’02 D.Sc. (Hon.), University of Kentucky Alumni Association Endowed Professor of Biological Chemistry, has been chosen to receive the Alumni Career Award, the UMaine Alumni Association’s highest honor. Butterfield has been credited with numerous breakthroughs regarding the study of Alzheimer’s disease and amnestic mild cognitive impairment, the precursor to Alzheimer’s. He has received countless accolades for his work, including the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring, presented by President Clinton in 1998, and an honorary doctorate from the University of Maine in 2002. Butterfield currently divides his time between Kentucky and Maine and was recently recognized by the UMaine Institute of Medicine as their inaugural Distinguished Science Lecturer.

Dr. Roberto Lopez-Anido, P.E.

Distinguished Maine Professor

An internationally recognized University of Maine civil engineering researcher known for his excellence in teaching and innovation in the use of composite materials for infrastructure applications has been named the 2023 Distinguished Maine Professor, the university’s most prestigious faculty award. Lopez-Anido, a member of the UMaine community since 1998, has helped prepare and mentor a generation of Maine structural engineers while producing an impressive portfolio of scholarship and service. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses on subjects ranging from basic structural mechanics to advanced composite materials modeling and design.

The annual Distinguished Maine Professor Award honors a UMaine professor who exemplifies the highest qualities of teaching, research and public service. It is sponsored by the UMaine classes of 1942 and 2002, and administered by the University of Maine Alumni Association.

John N. Diamond ’77, ’89G

Suzanne Kay Hart ’68 Alumni Service Award

John Diamond ’77, ’89G has been selected to receive the Alumni Association’s Suzanne Kay Hart ’68 Alumni Service Award, which honors an individual whose leadership and service have advanced the organization’s success and reputation. Diamond has held numerous leadership roles in the UMaine community over the past three decades, from Senior Director of Public Affairs, to Executive Director of External Affairs for the UMaine System, and most recently as the President and CEO of the UMaine Alumni Association for seven years prior to his retirement. He resides in Blue Hill.

Shawn Yardley ’79

Bernard Lown ’42 Humanitarian Award

Shawn Yardley ’79 has been selected to receive the Bernard Lown ’42 Alumni Humanitarian Award for his decades of service to the underprivileged population in Maine. Serving most recently as the CEO for Community Concepts Maine before retiring, Yardley dedicated his career to advocacy and leadership, ensuring a better tomorrow for those struggling with today. He resides in Bangor.

Justin Labonte ’10

Spirit of Maine Achievement Award

Justin Labonte ’10 has been chosen to receive the Spirit of Maine Achievement Award. The award recognizes an individual who – graduated within the past 15 years and has achieved outstanding professional success. Since graduating, Labonte earned a Master’s in Business Administration from Harvard Business School, and has steadily climbed the corporate ladder, currently working at a Fortune 200 company as a Vice President of Global Finance. Labonte is in his first term as a member of UMaine’s Board of Visitors, and served for seven years on the UMaine Alumni Association’s Board of Directors. He is a resident of New Milford, Connecticut.

Charles “Chip” Hutchins

Champion of UMaine Award

Charles “Chip” Hutchins of Brewer has been selected as the recipient of the Champion of UMaine Award. The award recognizes an individual who, though not a UMaine graduate, has been a strong and effective advocate for UMaine. Chip has continued his family’s strong tradition of support for the University, specifically for the Collins Center for the Arts and UMaine’s athletic programs.

The Robbins Family

Fogler Legacy Award

The Robbins family has been selected for the Fogler Legacy Award. The honor is awarded annually to a family with multiple generations of Black Bear graduates who have been actively engaged in volunteer service on behalf of UMaine, their community, and/or their respective professions. Through their family business, Robbins Lumber of Searsmont, they have provided significant support to the research efforts at the School of Forest Resources and the Advanced Structures and Composites Center.

Kristin Gilmour ’18, ’20H

Rising Star Award

Kristin Gilmour ’18, ’20G was chosen to receive the Alumni Association’s Rising Star Award in recognition of her tireless service to the UMaine M Club as a member of their Board of Directors. Kristin has been an academic counselor in the athletics department for several years, and played on the women’s ice hockey team as a student. She is a resident of Bangor.