Alumni Association Board Welcomes New Members

Six alumni have joined the UMaine Alumni Association Board of Directors, as four board members reached the end of their six-year terms. 

New board members pictured left to right: John Yates ’80, Marie Tobin ’94, Tanner Adams ’15, ’16G, Connor Bray ’23, Travis Noyes ’96, and Ashleigh Briggs ’09.

John Yates ’80 is the Ernest W. Hahn Professor in the Departments of Molecular Medicine and Neurobiology at The Scripps Research Institute. He received a B.A. in zoology and an M.S. in chemistry from the University of Maine and obtained his Ph.D. in chemistry at the University of Virginia. He has published over 900 scientific articles with >161,000 citations, and an H index of 197 (Google Scholar). Dr. Yates served as an associate editor at Analytical Chemistry for 15 years and is currently the editor in chief at the Journal of Proteome Research.  

Marie Tobin ’94 is a Business Development Representative for KMA HR Consulting. Prior to moving into business development, Marie was a corporate recruiter with extensive experience recruiting top talent from entry level to executive searches. Marie received a B.A. in communications from the University of Maine.

Tanner Adams ’15, ’16G is a vice president and commercial banker at JPMorgan Chase Middle Market Banking. As an involved student at UMaine, Adams received a B.A. in business & finance management before obtaining his MBA. He was the Beta Theta Pi treasurer, ambassador to the dean of the Business School, SPIFFY member and Student Government senator.

Connor Bray ’23 hopes to start his career in software engineering with his recent degree in computer science. Bray served as the student body president, and interned at Tyler Technologies during his years at UMaine.

Travis Noyes ’96 is the COO of Haley Ward, Inc. where he started working part-time as a student in 1994. Actively involved in civil engineering design projects that support the municipal, industrial, and commercial markets, his goal as the COO is to foster an empowerment mentality that will lead to employee opportunities and growth. Aside from his civil and environmental engineering degree, Travis was also very active in intramural athletics as well as his class group from CE and CET. Together, they designed and built a concrete toboggan which was taken to Winnipeg, Manitoba to compete against a number of other US and Canadian schools.

Ashleigh Briggs ’09 is a serial entrepreneur, having started businesses in the Bangor community. She is the founder and principal operations consultant of Briggs Solutions for Business as well as co-owner and manager of Rize CoWorking & Collaboration Space. During her college career, Ashleigh served as a tour guide, student ambassador, and member of the Campus Activities Board. Ashleigh has continued her involvement with different University of Maine groups, including the Black Bears of Bangor, Alpha Phi and has volunteered during study hours at Buchanan Alumni House.

The four board members leaving due to term limits are Rob Frank ’88, Kristen McAlpine ’06, ’08, Stacey Harris ’11, and Bob Fitta ’83. We thank them for their service and commitment to the UMaine Alumni Association. 

Theresa Lee ’87 was appointed chair of the board at the annual meeting in June, succeeding Julia Munsey ’02. Nate Wildes ’12 is the board’s newest vice chair. 

More information about the Association’s 35-member board of directors may be found here.