Celebrate the 2021 Alumni Achievement Awards with us!

Please join us on Thursday evening, May 20th at 6-7:30 p.m. (Eastern), for the 2021 Alumni Achievement Awards ceremony. The online event, sponsored by The Jackson Laboratory, will honor seven individuals and one family for their individual accomplishments and service to others. This year’s theme, “Common Threads,” recognizes the intertwined experience of attending UMaine, “the college of our hearts always!”

The virtual event will be presented in a TV-broadcast style format. Hosted by JC Monahan ’94, a news anchor of NBC’s Boston affiliate, WBTS-TV, each story will be narrated by prominent Black Bear alumni such as NPR’s Brian Naylor ’79, ’04 Hon., former Maine Supreme Court Justice Leigh Ingalls Saufley ’76, veteran broadcaster Bill Green ’76, and honorary degree recipient U.S. Senator Susan M. Collins ’11.

Please join us as we honor these award recipients:
Alumni Career Award: U.S. District Court Judge George Z. Singal ’67
Distinguished Maine Professor Award: Hemant Pendse, Ph.D.
Dr. Bernard Lown ’42 Humanitarian Award: Paul Plourde, MD ’73, ’74G
Suzanne Kay Hart ’68 Alumni Service Award: Barbara Brown Dalton ’81
Spirit of Maine Achievement Award: Ernest Scheyder ’06
Champion of UMaine Award: Jean Deighan
Rising Star Awards: Seth Albert ’14 and 1st Lt. Kristina McTigue ’12
Fogler Legacy Award: The family of Rita and Donald Stimpson ’55

Registration is available here. The event will be streamed to YouTube.