Inductees to be Added to the UMaine Sports Hall of Fame

Six outstanding individual athletes, a former coach, and members of a women’s basketball team will be inducted into the UMaine Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2021 UMaine Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will take place on Friday, Sept. 17, at Jeff’s Catering in Brewer, at 5:30-8:30 pm. Space is limited, and tickets are available online at or by calling banquet co-chairs Cherie Damon (207.949.4745 / or Sue Pate (207.249.9245 /

The induction class features Brittany Cheney ’07, three-time All-Conference softball selection; Jack Cosgrove ’78, ’84G, UMaine’s all-time football coaching wins leader and three-time conference coach of the year; Aaron Dashiell ’00, ’02G, two-time Associated Press All-American football player; Rick Lashua ’84, two-time NCAA Baseball Regional All-Tournament Team selection and the 1984 New England Player of the Year; Riley Masters ’12, a two-time All-American in the mile event; Gustav Nyquist ’12, 12-year NHL veteran and two-time Hobey Baker finalist; Raffi Wolf ’03, two-time women’s ice hockey Olympian for Team Germany; and the legendary 1998-99 women’s basketball team, which captured Maine’s first, and only, NCAA Women’s Basketball tournament victory.