Three Alumnae Honored with 2020 Maryann Hartman Awards

Three UMaine alumnae have been selected as recipients of the 2020 Maryann Hartman Awards.

Left to right: Sharon Barker ’71, ‘87G, retired director of UMaine’s Women’s Resource Center; Maulian Dana ’06, Penobscot Nation Ambassador; and Kandyce Powell ’69, executive director of Maine Hospice Council are recipients of the awards, which recognize Maine women whose achievements in the arts, politics, business, education, health care, and community service provide inspiration.

The three honorees were scheduled to receive their awards at a March 25th event at Buchanan Alumni House. However, the event has been postponed because of precautions related to the Covid-19 pandemic and is expected to be rescheduled for a date later this year.