Class of 1987 Winter 2022 Class Note

Welcome to winter, everyone!

In the greater Boston area, we spent most of the summer in severe draught. Lots of heat, not so much rain. While that’s great for a vacation, it’s not so good for the lawn, garden, or the great outdoors.

Hopefully, winter will bring the precipitation we need, but not too much!

We had our 35th Class Reunion in October. It’s really hard to believe that we are that old! We had professors who were younger than we are now. Probably most of them.

It has literally been a lifetime since we spent our life in the Memorial Union and the library. Anyone remember Bumstock? Good times!

While getting closer to retirement, many of us are still pursuing careers. 

Eric Haley G was asked to stay on for another year as superintendent of the Waterville school system. Eric has been the superintendent for 21 years and had planned to retire. But the school board could not find a suitable replacement from their search and asked Eric to stay. 

While Eric is “absolutely happy to stay on,” at 67 he is also looking forward to retirement.

Jean Stevens Skorapa was unanimously approved by the Freeport Regional School Unit 5 to be their new superintendent. 

Jean has 35 years in education and previously was superintendent of RSU 67 in Lincoln, RSU 3 in Unity, and worked in the Brunswick School Department for 23 years.

Jean raised her family in Freeport and her children graduated from Freeport High School, so the new position is a bit of a homecoming for her.

Jay Kemble ’95G, who has been coaching girls’ basketball at Bangor High, has been named coach of the girls’ field hockey team as well. Jay plans to bring his extensive coaching experience to the team and recruit athletic girls who may be new to field hockey.

Scott Morse was inducted into the UMaine Sports Hall of Fame this summer. Scott holds many records, including 10 consecutive wins, fourth on UMaine’s list of wins at 26, fourth most strikeouts in a single season, 96 in 1986, and he pitched the Black Bears to consecutive College World Series in 1985 and 1986.

Have a safe winter, and here’s to 2023!