Class of 2003 Summer 2022 Class Note

Gretchen Schaefer ’06G won her incumbent seat during the November 2021 election for Bangor’s City Council race. Gretchen is an instructional technologist at Husson University (also in Bangor) and has served on the council since 2018. Gretchen has diligently worked for a new skate park for the city in Hayford Park, which opened in October 2021. One of her platforms included a more regional approach to the affordable housing and homelessness issue.

‘M Club’ Dean Smith Award recipient in 2003, Jennifer Johnstone is continuing her excellence in leadership teaching and coaching for Everett High School in Lansing, MI. Sports have been part of her life long before the athletic fields of UMaine. She began coaching immediate after leaving UMaine. Her lessons as a UMaine athlete translate to her players and students alike, imparting the wisdom of winning, losing, work ethic, and self-care.

Maria Libby’s G request for a six-month sabbatical from SAD 28, Five Town CSD was granted by the SAD 28, Five Town CSD’s School Board. Maria proposed the sabbatical to work on two books — one about her experience in education and another children’s book related to education. She has served as superintendent of the two school districts since 2015; previously she served as assistant superintendent as well as principal of Camden-Rockport Middle School. Maria is looking forward to the reprieve to come back as her “best self.”

Cheers to a summer full of fun in the Vacationland sun!