Class of 1960

Class of 1960, 60th Reunion Information

Details/Registration Information for  Pre-Reunion in Boothbay Harbor

Note: An anonymous donor is underwriting the cost of three events in Boothbay Harbor for registrants at the Newagen Inn– no cost to you! But you MUST sign up with your room reservation for the events you wish to attend:

Boothbay Harbor, Newagen Seaside Inn – Full-service Inn with countless amenities, located on the water.
Full dining room breakfast included. Lunch and dinner available off the menu. Special events:

Tuesday, September 14, 7:00 PM SKERRYVORE – Boothbay Opera House
Live performance of the Scottish Band voted “Best Live Act of the Year” in 2011 and 2016. Don’t miss this dynamic show!
NOTE: 14 Tickets will be held until August 31.

Wednesday, September 15, 1:30 PM Schooner cruise aboard the LAZY JACK
NOTE: 14 tickets will be held until August 31.

Wednesday, September 15, 5:30 PM Traditional Maine Lobster Bake, Newagen Inn
Clam Chowder
Hot Dogs
Red Potatoes
Corn of the Cob
Blueberry Cake with Blueberry Sauce and Whipped Cream
Lemonade and Iced Tea

Rooms at the Newagen Inn will include these special events. Late registrants can only be accommodated if space and tickets are available. Full breakfast included with room fee; lunch and dinner available off the menu in the dining room.

Rooms are Queen and King, some with extra sofa bed. Luggage assistance is available.
Prices range from $165.85 to $388.21 plus tax, depending on size requested.

Contact: Newagen Inn, Corinne Larson or registration desk at 207-633-5242.
14 rooms have been reserved for the Class 1960: Sept. 14 & 15; checkout Sept 16.
DEADLINE for group rate is August 31.


Details/Registration Information for September 17 on campus in Orono

Friday, September 17

8am – 4pm – Reunion Registration/Check-in – Visit Buchanan Alumni House at your convenience to pick up your nametag and other reunion materials.

9am – 11am: “Morning Mingle” hosted by Senior Alumni – Join members of the Senior Alumni Committee along with current and former non-traditional student scholarship recipients and student alumni ambassadors for a morning of conversation and student stories! Morning refreshments will be available.

9:30am – 1960 Class Business Meeting at Buchanan Alumni House

Noon: Luncheon hosted by Senior Alumni at Wells Conference Center with a guest panel of UMaine students and remarks from UMaine President Joan Ferrini-Mundy

2pm – 3pm – Wells Conference Center: Guest Speaker Dana Humphrey Ph.D, P.E. – Dean of College of Engineering will be speaking about the new Engineering Education and Design Center

4:30 – 6pm – Reception at Buchanan Alumni House – Hors d’oeuvres and cash bar

Saturday, September 18

Noon: UMaine Football vs Merrimack College at Alfond Stadium (Tailgating beginning at 9am) $10 group rate tickets available on the reunion registration form.

Registration Information Coming Soon.

Hotel rooms are being held for 1960 at the University Inn in Orono starting at $122 per night (207-866-4921) until August 13. Indicate you are with the Class of 1960 when reserving.

PLEASE NOTE: Currently UMaine’s health and safety protocol for on-campus visits requires individuals to wear a face covering only when indoors except when eating or drinking. We do not know if that same protocol will remain in place when Reunion is held on September 17th. The current protocol for Buchanan Alumni House, which is privately owned by the Alumni Association and Foundation and is not considered a UMaine facility, does not require face covering for individuals who are fully vaccinated for COVID-19. Those who are not fully vaccinated are expected to wear a face covering when inside Buchanan Alumni House, both as health and safety measures and out of respect for others.









Welcome to the Class of 1960. We’d love to hear from you. Please take a few moments and share your news with classmates.

For questions or to get involved in class activities, please contact Ashley Twombly ’10, ’12G at (207) 581-1144.

Class Officers 2015-2020

President Arthur "Ace" Conro
Vice President L. Richard (Rick) Lloyd
Secretary Diane Tatlock Pierce
Treasurer Vacant
Class Correspondent Arthur "Ace" Conro
Senior Alumni Representative Nancy Morse Dysart
Reunion Committee Gail Rae Carter, Arthur "Ace" Conro, Nancy Morse Dysart, Kay Sawyer Hannah, L. Richard (Rick) Lloyd, Connie Atherton Martin, Diane Tatlock Pierce, Frederick W. Pierce III, Ralph F. "Chelsea" Pilsbury, Joanne Keith Sullivan, Sherry Webster Walkup