Professor Richard Powell

Distinguished Maine Professor Award

UMaine Political Science Professor Richard Powell, the 2020 recipient of the Distinguished Maine Professor Award, the university’s most prestigious faculty award. Powell, who has taught political science at UMaine since 2001, was selected for the award earlier this year. He was one of six faculty members nominated by campus deans for the award. The Distinguished Maine Professor Award program was established in 1963 through an endowment fund started by the Class of 1942 and continued by the Class of 2002. A special committee of alumni, current and former faculty members, and a representative of the student body made the selection based on a detailed review of the candidates’ teaching, research, and public service records.

Click here to return to the 2020 Alumni Award Winners.


2020 Distinguished Maine Professor Award Sponsored by: