Alumni Service Awards Announced

The Alumni Association has selected several Black Bears to receive its top alumni service awards. The awards were based on nominations submitted by alumni during 2018 and chosen by the Alumni Association’s awards selection committee. 

Mark Bancroft ’93, ’94, Thomas “Skip” Chappelle ’62, and Edward Keefe ’86 have been selected to receive Black Bear awards. The award recognizes alumni who have consistently advocated for the university, increasing or enhancing the reputation and appreciation of UMaine through academics, athletics, the arts, and/or alumni success.

Herb Cohen ’58, Elizabeth Parker Enstrom ’55, Carolynn Ruzbarsky Woodhull ’70, and James Kachmar ’94 have been chosen to receive Block “M” awards. The award is given to alumni who have worked to strengthen their class, alumni chapter, or alumni group.

Rachel Davenport Dutch ’73 has been selected to receive the 2019 Class Correspondent Award. It recognizes an individual who, as class correspondent, has communicated effectively with classmates and helped them connect with each other and UMaine.

The Alumni Association will present these awards at regional events in the honorees’ areas of residence during the course of the year.

In December the Alumni Association announced the 2019 recipients of its Alumni Achievement Awards, a separate recognition program whose recipients will be honored in Orono on Friday, April 5th. Click here for more information about the alumni awards categories and nomination processes.