M Club

March 13, 2020

More Than 300 Attend Alumni Event at Sox Spring Training

More than 300 Black Bear alumni and guests gathered for the Alumni Association’s annual Red Sox Spring Training game and BBQ on March 5 in Fort Myers, FL. During a pre-game event attendees heard from UMaine President Joan Ferrini-Mundy and Red Sox Executive Vice President Ron Bumgarner. John Reed ’79, ’91G, president/CEO of Maine Savings,…

February 11, 2020

Two Students Win Prestigious ‘M’ Club Dean Smith Awards

At the annual Scholar-Athlete Recognition Ceremony 289 student-athletes were honored for their academic success. The ‘M’ Club Dean Smith award, the most prestigious award presented annually to the top male and female student-athletes at UMaine, was presented to Cassandra Mascarenhas of the field hockey team and Mitch Fossier of the men’s ice hockey team.  Click…

July 17, 2019

Maine’s Mr. Secretary

ONE DAY as then-Attorney General Janet T. Mills was struggling to take care of her family, household, and official duties during her late husband’s illness, she received an unannounced visitor: Secretary of State Matt Dunlap ’87, ’94G, who was in Farmington to give a speech. “He came in, changed into some work clothes, and went…

May 17, 2019

Eight Inductees Will Join UMaine Sports Hall of Fame

The University of Maine Sports Hall of Fame will induct an eight-member class this fall on September 13th. Honorees include Corey Conner, 10-time America East champion and two-time track All-American; Gerald (Jerry) Ellis, nine-time letterwinner and two-time Maine State Champion in the mile; Heather Hathorn (Driscoll), women’s soccer record holder for career goals and career…

March 8, 2017

MLB’S Letendre Receives Alumni Honor from UMaine

In recognition of Mark “Rookie” Letendre’s decades of outstanding leadership and service to his college alma mater, the University of Maine Alumni Association has awarded him the Block “M” Award, one of its most prestigious awards. Letendre, a native of Manchester, New Hampshire, was presented the award on February 22 at an alumni event in…