Champion of UMaine Award

  • Recognizes an individual or couple who, though not an alumnus or alumna of UMaine, has provided exceptional, effective, and sustained advocacy and support for UMaine’s mission and quality.
  • One award may be given annually  
  • Only non-alumni are eligible
  • Not eligible: any current UMAA board member, current UMAA or UMaine Foundation employee, or current member of the Alumni Awards Selection Committee

Nomination materials:

  1. At least two letters from nominators detailing the nominee’s efforts to support and advocate for UMaine’s mission and quality
  2. One additional letter from someone closely familiar with the nominee’s performance and achievements in support of UMaine

Recipients by year

2024 John and Suzi Miller
2023 Charles “Chip” Hutchins
2022 Bill Leitch
2021 Jean Deighan
2020 Renee Minsky ’44H, ’50H
2019 Miles Unobsky Theeman
2018 Norman Minsky ’52H