2021 Alumni Achievement Award Winners

Each year the UMaine Alumni Association recognizes several individuals who have performed distinguished service on behalf of their professions, communities, and alma mater. To view the award categories, click here.

A federal judge, medical researcher, and journalist are among the 2021 Alumni Award recipients who will be recognized during an awards celebration in late April. The 2021 honorees were selected based on nominations submitted to the Alumni Association’s awards committee. Award recipients will be recognized in a virtual ceremony on April 29.

If you’d like to sponsor the 2021 Alumni Achievement Awards, please contact Aysha Vear.

Given the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Alumni Association is moving to a virtual format for the 2021 Alumni Achievement Awards. We also plan to recognize individual honorees at regional alumni events to be held in the future.

Please contact alumni@maine.edu with any questions. Thank you for your understanding and support.

Judge George Singal ’67

Alumni Career Award Recipient

The Hon. George Singal ’67 was selected to receive the Alumni Career Award, the Alumni Association’s highest honor. Singal has had a long, distinguished career in law.

Singal arrived in the U.S. as a young immigrant following World War II. He rose in his profession to become a United States District Court judge. In 2019, U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts appointed Singal to the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court along with his District Court duties. In that role, Singal reviews and acts on government requests for electronic surveillance, physical searches, and other matters related to foreign intelligence gathering.

Paul Plourde ’73, ’74G, MD

Bernard Lown Humanitarian Award Recipient

Paul Plourde ’73, ’74G, MD was chosen to receive the Bernard Lown ’42 Humanitarian Award. Plourde began his medical career in a private endocrinology practice and then used his clinical and scientific skills to develop new pharmacological agents to help his patients. He became an industry leader in the planning and development of a large study of the treatment of breast cancer. His scholarship and commitment led to the development of novel hormonal treatment of the disease.

Barbara Brown Dalton ’81

Suzanne Kay Hart Alumni Service Award (previously known as the Pine Tree Emblem Alumni Service Award)

Barbara Brown Dalton ’81 was honored with the Suzanne Kay Hart Alumni Service Award (previously known as the Pine Tree Emblem Alumni Service Award). Dalton has worked on behalf of the association’s Board of Directors, and as both president and a longtime correspondent for the Class of 1981. She is a faithful fan of Black Bear Athletics, an Honorary M Club member, Maine Mentor, a loyal donor, and a dedicated supporter of the university and its alumni.

Ernest Scheyder ’06

The Spirit of Maine Achievement Award

The Spirit of Maine Achievement Award winner is Ernest Scheyder ’06, a journalist at Reuters. Scheyder’s work focuses on transportation and the energy industry. He has also covered national stories, including the the 2020 Presidential campaign, Dakota Access Pipeline, Sandy Hook massacre, and Penn State abuse scandal. He began his career with the Maine Campus and the Bangor Daily News before earning a master’s at Columbia Journalism School and working for the Associated Press.

Jean Deighan

Champion of UMaine Award

Jean Deighan is the recipient of the Champion of UMaine Award. The award recognizes a non-alumnus for effective, longtime advocacy for UMaine. Deighan has been an avid proponent of the Zillman Museum of Art, and the company she founded provided free museum admission to countless visitors for several years. She has served as a member of the President’s Development Council, on the Board of Visitors, the Maine Business School Advisory Board, and volunteered in other capacities for the benefit of the university.


Seth Albert ’14 &
Kristina McTigue ’12

Rising Star Awards

Two recent graduates, Seth Albert ’14 and Kristina McTigue ’12, will receive the Rising Star Award. Albert, vice president for the UMaine Alumni Chapter of Southern Maine, has been a leader and volunteer, and worked to advance the mission and visibility of that group. McTigue, a first lieutenant and licensed clinical social worker in the U.S. Air Force, is vice president of her class and helped organize alumni events in Washington, D.C.

The Stimpson Family

Fogler Legacy Award

The Stimpson family will be honored with the Fogler Legacy Award in recognition of four generations of distinguished University of Maine graduates. Family members have had careers in veterinary medicine and higher education, law, and other fields.



If you’d like to sponsor the 2021 Alumni Achievement Awards, please contact Aysha Vear.