Class of 1971

Class of 1971 50th Reunion Information

Class members are invited to attend Reunion on campus September 17th. Hotel rooms are being held at the Black Bear Inn in Orono starting at $122 per night (207- 866-7120) until August 13 and at the University Inn in Orono (207-866-4921). Mention you are with the Class of 1971 when reserving.

The Alumni Association will be putting together a 50th Reunion Bio Book for our class.  Please visit to fill out a few short questions about your time on campus, what you are doing now, memories from UMaine etc., so you will be included in the bio book, whether you plan to attend reunion or not.  Also associated with that form is a Golden M Nomination.  The Golden M recognizes a member of our class for outstanding class service and/or leadership since graduation. Entries for the bio book and Golden M must be received by August 15th.

Reunion Schedule:

Friday, September 17

8am – 4pm – Reunion Registration/Check-in – Visit Buchanan Alumni House at your convenience to pick up your nametag and other reunion materials.

9am – 11am: “Morning Mingle” hosted by Senior Alumni – Join members of the Senior Alumni Committee along with current and former non-traditional student scholarship recipients and student alumni ambassadors for a morning of conversation and student stories! Morning refreshments will be available.

10am – 1971 Class Business Meeting on campus – Location TBA

Noon: Luncheon hosted by Senior Alumni at Wells Conference Center with a guest panel of UMaine students and remarks from UMaine President Joan Ferrini-Mundy

2pm – 3pm – Wells Conference Center: Guest Speaker Dana Humphrey Ph.D, P.E. – Dean of College of Engineering will be speaking about the new Engineering Education and Design Center

4:30-6pm – 50th Reunion Cocktail Reception at the President’s House on campus

6:30pm- Class Dinner at Governor’s in Old Town – Choose from four delicious dinner options when registering. Dinner comes with a variety of non-alcoholic beverages and an array of dessert choices. Beer and wine cash bar available on site.

Saturday, September 18

Noon: UMaine Football vs Merrimack College at Alfond Stadium (Tailgating beginning at 9am) $10 group rate tickets available on the reunion registration form.

PLEASE NOTE: Currently UMaine’s health and safety protocol for on-campus visits requires individuals to wear a face covering only when indoors except when eating or drinking. We do not know if that same protocol will remain in place when Reunion is held on September 17th.  The current protocol for Buchanan Alumni House, which is privately owned by the Alumni Association and Foundation and is not considered a UMaine facility, does not require face covering for individuals who are fully vaccinated for COVID-19. Those who are not fully vaccinated are expected to wear a face covering when inside Buchanan Alumni House, both as health and safety measures and out of respect for others.










Welcome to the Class of 1971. We’d love to hear from you. Please take a few moments and share your news with classmates.

For question or to get involved in class activities, please contact Ashley Nemer ’10, ’12G at (207) 581-1144.

Class Officers 2016-2021

President Charles Stanhope
Vice President W. Joseph Cote
Secretary/Class Correspondent Barbara McCarthy Allen
Treasurer Curt Beveridge
Class Agent Dennis P. King
Executive Committee Carolyn Stickney Ackerman, Edward E. Smith, Bruce D. Turmenne, Ralph D. Walsh, Lorna Rand Willey, N. Laurence Willey, Stephen H. Whitcomb, Nancy Sereyko Burgoyne
Fund Committee Jim Thibodeau, Cindy Numrych Stockford, Dennis King, Charles Stanhope, Dan Dauphinee, Susan Cote Matthews
Reunion Committee Karen Rossello Boucias, Paula Sheehan Paradis, Nancy Bishop Tracy